Friday, 27 September 2013

Visual Web Ripper: Using External Input Data Sources

Sometimes it is necessary to use external data sources to provide parameters for the scraping process. For example, you have a database with a bunch of ASINs and you need to scrape all product information for each one of them. As far as Visual Web Ripper is concerned, an input data source can be used to provide a list of input values to a data extraction project. A data extraction project will be run once for each row of input values.

An input data source is normally used in one of these scenarios:

    To provide a list of input values for a web form
    To provide a list of start URLs
    To provide input values for Fixed Value elements
    To provide input values for scripts

Visual Web Ripper supports the following input data sources:

    SQL Server Database
    MySQL Database
    OleDB Database
    CSV File
    Script (A script can be used to provide data from almost any data source)

To see it in action you can download a sample project that uses an input CSV file with Amazon ASIN codes to generate Amazon start URLs and extract some product data. Place both the project file and the input CSV file in the default Visual Web Ripper project folder (My Documents\Visual Web Ripper\Projects).

For further information please look at the manual topic, explaining how to use an input data source to generate start URLs.


Source: http://extract-web-data.com/visual-web-ripper-using-external-input-data-sources/

Scraping Amazon.com with Screen Scraper

Let’s look how to use Screen Scraper for scraping Amazon products having a list of asins in external database.

Screen Scraper is designed to be interoperable with all sorts of databases and web-languages. There is even a data-manager that allows one to make a connection to a database (MySQL, Amazon RDS, MS SQL, MariaDB, PostgreSQL, etc), and then the scripting in screen-scraper is agnostic to the type of database.

Let’s go through a sample scrape project you can see it at work. I don’t know how well you know Screen Scraper, but I assume you have it installed, and a MySQL database you can use. You need to:

    Make sure screen-scraper is not running as workbench or server
    Put the Amazon (Scraping Session).sss file in the “screen-scraper enterprise edition/import” directory.
    Put the mysql-connector-java-5.1.22-bin.jar file in the “screen-scraper enterprise edition/lib/ext” directory.
    Create a MySQL database for the scrape to use, and import the amazon.sql file.
    Put the amazon.db.config file in the “screen-scraper enterprise edition/input” directory and edit it to contain proper settings to connect to your database.
    Start the screen scraper workbench

Since this is a very simple scrape, you just want to run it in the workbench (most of the time you want to run scrapes in server mode). Start the workbench, and you will see the Amazon scrape in there, and you can just click the “play” button.

Note that a breakpoint comes up for each item. It would be easy to save the scraped details to a database table or file if you want. Also see in the database the “id_status” changes as each item is scraped.

When the scrape is run, it looks in the database for products marked “not scraped”, so when you want to re-run the scrapes, you need to:

UPDATE asin
SET `id_status` = 0

Have a nice scraping! ))

P.S. We thank Jason Bellows from Ekiwi, LLC for such a great tutorial.


Source: http://extract-web-data.com/scraping-amazon-com-with-screen-scraper/

Thursday, 26 September 2013

Using External Input Data in Off-the-shelf Web Scrapers

There is a question I’ve wanted to shed some light upon for a long time already: “What if I need to scrape several URL’s based on data in some external database?“.

For example, recently one of our visitors asked a very good question (thanks, Ed):

    “I have a large list of amazon.com asin. I would like to scrape 10 or so fields for each asin. Is there any web scraping software available that can read each asin from a database and form the destination url to be scraped like http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/{asin} and scrape the data?”

This question impelled me to investigate this matter. I contacted several web scraper developers, and they kindly provided me with detailed answers that allowed me to bring the following summary to your attention:
Visual Web Ripper

An input data source can be used to provide a list of input values to a data extraction project. A data extraction project will be run once for each row of input values. You can find the additional information here.
Web Content Extractor

You can use the -at”filename” command line option to add new URLs from TXT or CSV file:

    WCExtractor.exe projectfile -at”filename” -s

projectfile: the file name of the project (*.wcepr) to open.
filename – the file name of the CSV or TXT file that contains URLs separated by newlines.
-s – starts the extraction process

You can find some options and examples here.
Mozenda

Since Mozenda is cloud-based, the external data needs to be loaded up into the user’s Mozenda account. That data can then be easily used as part of the data extracting process. You can construct URLs, search for strings that match your inputs, or carry through several data fields from an input collection and add data to it as part of your output. The easiest way to get input data from an external source is to use the API to populate data into a Mozenda collection (in the user’s account). You can also input data in the Mozenda web console by importing a .csv file or importing one through our agent building tool.

Once the data is loaded into the cloud, you simply initiate building a Mozenda web agent and refer to that Data list. By using the Load page action and the variable from the inputs, you can construct a URL like http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/%asin%.
Helium Scraper

Here is a video showing how to do this with Helium Scraper:


The video shows how to use the input data as URLs and as search terms. There are many other ways you could use this data, way too many to fit in a video. Also, if you know SQL, you could run a query to get the data directly from an external MS Access database like
SELECT * FROM [MyTable] IN "C:\MyDatabase.mdb"

Note that the database needs to be a “.mdb” file.
WebSundew Data Extractor
Basically this allows using input data from external data sources. This may be CSV, Excel file or a Database (MySQL, MSSQL, etc). Here you can see how to do this in the case of an external file, but you can do it with a database in a similar way (you just need to write an SQL script that returns the necessary data).
In addition to passing URLs from the external sources you can pass other input parameters as well (input fields, for example).
Screen Scraper

Screen Scraper is really designed to be interoperable with all sorts of databases. We have composed a separate article where you can find a tutorial and a sample project about scraping Amazon products based on a list of their ASINs.


Source: http://extract-web-data.com/using-external-input-data-in-off-the-shelf-web-scrapers/

Tuesday, 24 September 2013

Selenium IDE and Web Scraping

Selenium is a browser automation framework that includes IDE, Remote Control server and bindings of various flavors including Java, .Net, Ruby, Python and other. In this post we touch on the basic structure of the framework and its application to  Web Scraping.
What is Selenium IDE


Selenium IDE is an integrated development environment for Selenium scripts. It is implemented as a Firefox plugin, and it allows recording browsers’ interactions in order to edit them. This works well for software tests, composing and debugging. The Selenium Remote Control is a server specific for a particular environment; it causes custom scripts to be implemented for controlled browsers. Selenium deploys on Windows, Linux, and iOS. How various Selenium components are supported with major browsers read here.
What does Selenium do and Web Scraping

Basically Selenium automates browsers. This ability is no doubt to be applied to web scraping. Since browsers (and Selenium) support JavaScript, jQuery and other methods working with dynamic content why not use this mix for benefit in web scraping, rather than to try to catch Ajax events with plain code? The second reason for this kind of scrape automation is browser-fasion data access (though today this is emulated with most libraries).

Yes, Selenium works to automate browsers, but how to control Selenium from a custom script to automate a browser for web scraping? There are Selenium PHP and other language libraries (bindings) providing for scripts to call and use Selenium. It is possible to write Selenium clients (using the libraries) in almost any language we prefer, for example Perl, Python, Java, PHP etc. Those libraries (API), along with a server, the Java written server that invokes browsers for actions, constitute the Selenum RC (Remote Control). Remote Control automatically loads the Selenium Core into the browser to control it. For more details in Selenium components refer to here.


A tough scrape task for programmer

“…cURL is good, but it is very basic.  I need to handle everything manually; I am creating HTTP requests by hand.
This gets difficult – I need to do a lot of work to make sure that the requests that I send are exactly the same as the requests that a browser would
send, both for my sake and for the website’s sake. (For my sake
because I want to get the right data, and for the website’s sake
because I don’t want to cause error messages or other problems on their site because I sent a bad request that messed with their web application).  And if there is any important javascript, I need to imitate it with PHP.
It would be a great benefit to me to be able to control a browser like Firefox with my code. It would solve all my problems regarding the emulation of a real browser…
it seems that Selenium will allow me to do this…” -Ryan S

Yes, that’s what we will consider below.
Scrape with Selenium

In order to create scripts that interact with the Selenium Server (Selenium RC, Selenium Remote Webdriver) or create local Selenium WebDriver script, there is the need to make use of language-specific client drivers (also called Formatters, they are included in the selenium-ide-1.10.0.xpi package). The Selenium servers, drivers and bindings are available at Selenium download page.
The basic recipe for scrape with Selenium:

    Use Chrome or Firefox browsers
    Get Firebug or Chrome Dev Tools (Cntl+Shift+I) in action.
    Install requirements (Remote control or WebDriver, libraries and other)
    Selenium IDE : Record a ‘test’ run thru a site, adding some assertions.
    Export as a Python (other language) script.
    Edit it (loops, data extraction, db input/output)
    Run script for the Remote Control

The short intro Slides for the scraping of tough websites with Python & Selenium are here (as Google Docs slides) and here (Slide Share).
Selenium components for Firefox installation guide

For how to install the Selenium IDE to Firefox see  here starting at slide 21. The Selenium Core and Remote Control installation instructions are there too.
Extracting for dynamic content using jQuery/JavaScript with Selenium

One programmer is doing a similar thing …

1. launch a selenium RC (remote control) server
2. load a page
3. inject the jQuery script
4. select the interested contents using jQuery/JavaScript
5. send back to the PHP client using JSON.

He particularly finds it quite easy and convenient to use jQuery for
screen scraping, rather than using PHP/XPath.
Conclusion

The Selenium IDE is the popular tool for browser automation, mostly for its software testing application, yet also in that Web Scraping techniques for tough dynamic websites may be implemented with IDE along with the Selenium Remote Control server. These are the basic steps for it:

    Record the ‘test‘ browser behavior in IDE and export it as the custom programming language script
    Formatted language script runs on the Remote Control server that forces browser to send HTTP requests and then script catches the Ajax powered responses to extract content.

Selenium based Web Scraping is an easy task for small scale projects, but it consumes a lot of memory resources, since for each request it will launch a new browser instance.



Source: http://extract-web-data.com/selenium-ide-and-web-scraping/

Data Mining's Importance in Today's Corporate Industry

A large amount of information is collected normally in business, government departments and research & development organizations. They are typically stored in large information warehouses or bases. For data mining tasks suitable data has to be extracted, linked, cleaned and integrated with external sources. In other words, it is the retrieval of useful information from large masses of information, which is also presented in an analyzed form for specific decision-making.

Data mining is the automated analysis of large information sets to find patterns and trends that might otherwise go undiscovered. It is largely used in several applications such as understanding consumer research marketing, product analysis, demand and supply analysis, telecommunications and so on. Data Mining is based on mathematical algorithm and analytical skills to drive the desired results from the huge database collection.

It can be technically defined as the automated mining of hidden information from large databases for predictive analysis. Web mining requires the use of mathematical algorithms and statistical techniques integrated with software tools.

Data mining includes a number of different technical approaches, such as:

    Clustering
    Data Summarization
    Learning Classification Rules
    Finding Dependency Networks
    Analyzing Changes
    Detecting Anomalies

The software enables users to analyze large databases to provide solutions to business decision problems. Data mining is a technology and not a business solution like statistics. Thus the data mining software provides an idea about the customers that would be intrigued by the new product.

It is available in various forms like text, web, audio & video data mining, pictorial data mining, relational databases, and social networks. Data mining is thus also known as Knowledge Discovery in Databases since it involves searching for implicit information in large databases. The main kinds of data mining software are: clustering and segmentation software, statistical analysis software, text analysis, mining and information retrieval software and visualization software.

Data Mining therefore has arrived on the scene at the very appropriate time, helping these enterprises to achieve a number of complex tasks that would have taken up ages but for the advent of this marvelous new technology.





Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?Data-Minings-Importance-in-Todays-Corporate-Industry&id=2057401

Monday, 23 September 2013

Outsource Data Mining Services to Offshore Data Entry Company

Companies in India offer complete solution services for all type of data mining services.

Data Mining Services and Web research services offered, help businesses get critical information for their analysis and marketing campaigns. As this process requires professionals with good knowledge in internet research or online research, customers can take advantage of outsourcing their Data Mining, Data extraction and Data Collection services to utilize resources at a very competitive price.

In the time of recession every company is very careful about cost. So companies are now trying to find ways to cut down cost and outsourcing is good option for reducing cost. It is essential for each size of business from small size to large size organization. Data entry is most famous work among all outsourcing work. To meet high quality and precise data entry demands most corporate firms prefer to outsource data entry services to offshore countries like India.

In India there are number of companies which offer high quality data entry work at cheapest rate. Outsourcing data mining work is the crucial requirement of all rapidly growing Companies who want to focus on their core areas and want to control their cost.

Why outsource your data entry requirements?

Easy and fast communication: Flexibility in communication method is provided where they will be ready to talk with you at your convenient time, as per demand of work dedicated resource or whole team will be assigned to drive the project.

Quality with high level of Accuracy: Experienced companies handling a variety of data-entry projects develop whole new type of quality process for maintaining best quality at work.

Turn Around Time: Capability to deliver fast turnaround time as per project requirements to meet up your project deadline, dedicated staff(s) can work 24/7 with high level of accuracy.

Affordable Rate: Services provided at affordable rates in the industry. For minimizing cost, customization of each and every aspect of the system is undertaken for efficiently handling work.

Outsourcing Service Providers are outsourcing companies providing business process outsourcing services specializing in data mining services and data entry services. Team of highly skilled and efficient people, with a singular focus on data processing, data mining and data entry outsourcing services catering to data entry projects of a varied nature and type.

Why outsource data mining services?

360 degree Data Processing Operations
Free Pilots Before You Hire
Years of Data Entry and Processing Experience
Domain Expertise in Multiple Industries
Best Outsourcing Prices in Industry
Highly Scalable Business Infrastructure
24X7 Round The Clock Services

The expertise management and teams have delivered millions of processed data and records to customers from USA, Canada, UK and other European Countries and Australia.

Outsourcing companies specialize in data entry operations and guarantee highest quality & on time delivery at the least expensive prices.

Herat Patel, CEO at 3Alpha Dataentry Services possess over 15+ years of experience in providing data related services outsourced to India.

Visit our Facebook Data Entry profile for comments & reviews.

Our services helps to convert any kind of  hard copy sources, our data mining services helps to collect business contacts, customer contact, product specifications etc., from different web sources. We promise to deliver the best quality work and help you excel in your business by focusing on your core business activities. Outsource data mining services to India and take the advantage of outsourcing and save cost.




Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?Outsource-Data-Mining-Services-to-Offshore-Data-Entry-Company&id=4027029

Friday, 20 September 2013

Data Mining: From Moore's Law to One Sale a Day

Today the internet is more customized than it ever has been before. This is largely because of data mining, which involves using patterns and records of how you use the internet, to anticipate how you will continue to use the internet. This is an application of data mining, however; more broadly, the term refers to how to analyze data to cut costs or increase revenue.

While the term data mining is new, the practice is not. Due to Moore's Law, which states that processing power and data storage double every 18 months, over the past five years, it has become significantly easier to access vast stores of data. People are also continuing to use the internet and explore the web at an exponential rate so that the effect of data mining by 2020 will mean that roughly five billion of the world's seven and a half billion people will be affected. After about 2020, integrate circuits will be so advanced and tiny, that many predict Moore's law will be inapplicable to circuitry, but will continue to dictate the conventions of nanotechnology and biochips.

Data mining has more practical examples, too. The products you've bought off Amazon, for example, are analyzed by data miners at that company, to show you similar products that you may be interested in. Applied more widely, a restaurant chain could determine what customers buy and when they visit in order to tailor their menu to fit the tastes of the public at large, as well as to invent and supply new dishes and offer specials. This is called class data mining. A deal of the day site could target its giveaway of the day to a certain segment of the population that visits its site. If it knows that most people visit its site searching for technology-related items, chances are it will offer more of those items instead of a clothing or travel deal of the day. This is called cluster data mining. Association mining is a logical rule followed by supermarkets such that if a customer buys bread and butter, he will is likely to also buy milk.

Data mining involves statistics which determine what customers will buy over the course of thousands and millions of interactions. In effect, this is what makes technology seem smarter. The logical and statistical formulae humans implement make these rules widely applicable and largely sensible. The applications of data mining are various and exciting. In the future, the internet will be that much closer to reading your mind.




Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?Data-Mining:-From-Moores-Law-to-One-Sale-a-Day&id=6791618

Thursday, 19 September 2013

RFM - A Precursor to Data Mining

RFM in Action

RFM was initially utilized by marketers in the B-2-C space - specifically in industries like Cataloging, Insurance, Retail Banking, Telecommunications and others. There are a number of scoring approaches that can be used with RFM. We'll take a look at three:

RFM - Basic Ranking
RFM - Within Parent Cell Ranking
RFM - Weighted Cell Ranking

Each approach has experienced proponents that argue one over the other. The point is to start somewhere and experiment to find the one that works best for your company and your customer base. Let's look at a few examples.

RFM - Basic Ranking

This approach involves scoring customers based on each RFM factor separately. It begins with sorting your customers based on Recency, i.e., the number of days or months since their last purchase. Once sorted in ascending order (most recent purchasers at the top), the customers are then split into quintiles, or five equal groups. The customers in the top quintile represent the 20% of your customers that most recently purchased from you.

This process is then undertaken for Frequency and Monetary as well. Each customer is in one of the five cells for R, F, and M

Experience tells us that the best prospects for an upcoming campaign are those customers that are in Quintile 5 for each factor - those customers that have purchased most recently, most frequently and have spent the most money. In fact, a common approach to creating an aggregated score is to concatenate the individual RFM scores together resulting in 125 cells (5x5x5).

A customer's score can range from 555 being the highest, to 111 being the lowest.

RFM - Within Parent Cell Ranking

This approach is advocated by Arthur Middleton Hughes - one of the biggest proponents of RFM analysis. It begins like the one above, i.e., all customer are initially grouped into 5 cells based on Recency. The next step takes customers in a given Recency cell - say cell number 5, and then ranks those customers based on Frequency. Then customers in the 55 (RF) cell are ranked by monetary value.

RFM - Weighted Ranking

Weightings used by RFM practitioners vary. For example some advocate adding the RFM score together - thus giving equal weight to each factor. Consequently, scores can range from 15 (5+5+5) to 3 (1+1+1). Another weighting arrangement often used is, 3xR + 2xF + 1xM. In this case, scores can range from 30 to 3.

So which to use? In reality, there are many other permutations of approaches that are being used today. Best-practice marketing analytics requires a fine mix of mathematical and statistical science, creativity and experimentation. Bottom line, test multiple scoring methods to see which works best for your unique customer base.

Establishing a Score Threshold

After a test or production campaign, you will find that some of the cells were profitable while some were not. Let's turn to a case study to see how you can establish a threshold that will help maximize your profitability. This study comes from Professor Charlotte Mason of the Kenan-Flagler Business School and utilizes a real-life marketing study performed by The BookBinders Book Club (Source:Recency, Frequency and Monetary (RFM) Analysis, Professor Charlotte Mason, Kenan-Flagler Business School, University of North Carolina, 2003).

BookBinders is a specialty book seller that utilizes multiple marketing channels. BookBinders traditionally did mass marketing and wanted to test the power of RFM. To do so, they initially did a random mailing to 50,000 customers. The customers were mailed an offer to purchase The Art History of Florence. Response data was captured and a "post-RFM" analysis was completed. This "post analysis" was done by freezing the files of the 50,000 test customers prior to the actual test offer. Thus, the impact of this test campaign did not effect the analysis by coding many (the actual buyers) of the 50,000 test subjects as the most recent purchasers. The results firmly support the use of RFM as a highly effective segmentation approach.

Purchased the book = yes; months since last purchase = 8.61; total # purchases = 5.22; dollars spent = 234.30
Purchased the book = no; Months since last purchase = 12.73; total # purchases = 3.76; dollars spent = 205.74

Customers that purchased the book were more recent purchasers, more frequent purchasers and had spent the most with BookBinders.

The response rate for the top decile (18%) was twice the response rate associated with the 5th decile (9%).

Results from this test were then used by BookBinders to identify which of their remaining customers should receive the same mailing. BookBinders used a breakeven response rate calculation to determine the appropriate RFM cells to mail.

The following cost information was used as input:

Cost per Mail-piece $0.50

Selling Price $18.00

BookBinders Book Cost $9.00

Shipping Costs $3.00

Breakeven is achieved when the cost of the mailing is equal to the net profit from a sale. In this case:

Breakeven = (cost to mail the offer/net profit from a single sale)

= $0.50/($18-9-3)

= ($0.50/6)

= 8.3% = Breakeven Response rate

So, according to the test offer, profit can be obtained by mailing to cells that exhibited a response rate of greater than 8.3%

RFM dramatically improved profitability by capturing 71% of buyers (3,214/4,522) while mailing only 46% of their customers (22,731/50,000). And the return on marketing expenditures using RFM was more than eight times (69.7/8.5) that of a mass mailing.

Number of Cells and Cell Size Considerations

As previously mentioned, RFM was initially utilized by companies that operated in the B-to-C marketplace and generally possessed a very large number of customers. The idea of generating 125 cells using quintiles for R, F and M has been a very good practice as an initial modeling effort. But what if you are a B-to-B marketer with relatively fewer customers? Or, what if you are a B-to-C marketer with an extremely large file with millions of customers? The answer is to use the same approach that is used in data mining -- be flexible and experiment.

Establishing a minimum test cell size is a good place to start. Arthur Hughes recommends the following formula:

Test Cell Size = 4 / Breakeven Response Rate.

The Breakeven Response Rate was addressed above in the BookBinders case study. The number "4" is a number that Hughes has found works successfully based on many studies he has performed. BookBinders Breakeven Response Rate was 8.3%. Using the above formula, you would need a minimum of 48 customers in each cell (4/0.083). BookBinders actually had 400 customers per cell, so they had more than adequate comfort in the significance of their test. In reality, BookBinders could have created as many as 1,041 cells if they were comfortable using the minimum of 48 per cell. As an example, they could have used deciles as opposed to quintiles and established 1,000 cells (10 x 10 x 10). The more cells the finer the analysis, but of course the law of diminishing returns will arise.

Other weighting considerations can be used for small files. If your Breakeven Response Rate is 3%, your minimum cell size would be 133 customers (4/0.03). Therefore, if you have 12,000 customers you could have about 90 cells (12,000/133). As such, a 5 x 5 x 4 (100 cells) or a 5 x 4 x 4 (80 cells) approach may be appropriate.

Conclusions

RFM, BI and data mining are all part of an evolutionary path that is common to many marketing organizations. While RFM has been practiced for over 40 years, it still holds great value for many organizations. Its merits include:

- Simplicity - easy to understand and implement

- Relatively low cost

- Proven ROI

- The demand on data requirements are relatively low in terms of variables required and the number of records

- Once utilized, it sets up a broader foundation (from an infrastructure and business case perspective) to undertake more sophisticated data mining efforts

RFM's challenges include:

- Contact fatigue can be a problem for the higher scoring customers. A high level cross-campaign communication strategy can help prevent this.

- Your lowest scoring customers may never hear from you. Again, a cross-campaign communications plan should ensure that all of your customers are communicated with periodically to ensure low scoring customers are given the opportunity to meet their potential. Also, data mining and the prediction of customer lifetime value can help address this shortcoming.

- RFM includes only three variables. Data mining typically finds RFM-based variables to be quite important in response models. But there are additional variables that data mining typically use (e.g., detailed transaction, demographic and firmographic) that help produce improved results. Moreover, data mining techniques can also increase response rates via the development of richer segment/cell profiles that can be used to vary offer content and incentives.

As stated before, successful marketing efforts require analytics and experimentation. RFM has proven itself as an effective approach to predicting response and improving profitability. It can be an important stage in your company's evolution in marketing analytics.





Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?RFM---A-Precursor-to-Data-Mining&id=1962283

Tuesday, 17 September 2013

Data Mining Models - Tom's Ten Data Tips

What is a model? A model is a purposeful simplification of reality. Models can take on many forms. A built-to-scale look alike, a mathematical equation, a spreadsheet, or a person, a scene, and many other forms. In all cases, the model uses only part of reality, that's why it's a simplification. And in all cases, the way one reduces the complexity of real life, is chosen with a purpose. The purpose is to focus on particular characteristics, at the expense of losing extraneous detail.

If you ask my son, Carmen Elektra is the ultimate model. She replaces an image of women in general, and embodies a particular attractive one at that. A model for a wind tunnel, may look like the real car, at least the outside, but doesn't need an engine, brakes, real tires, etc. The purpose is to focus on aerodynamics, so this model only needs to have an identical outside shape.

Data Mining models, reduce intricate relations in data. They're a simplified representation of characteristic patterns in data. This can be for 2 reasons. Either to predict or describe mechanics, e.g. "what application form characteristics are indicative of a future default credit card applicant?". Or secondly, to give insight in complex, high dimensional patterns. An example of the latter could be a customer segmentation. Based on clustering similar patterns of database attributes one defines groups like: high income/ high spending/ need for credit, low income/ need for credit, high income/ frugal/ no need for credit, etc.

1. A Predictive Model Relies On The Future Being Like The Past

As Yogi Berra said: "Predicting is hard, especially when it's about the future". The same holds for data mining. What is commonly referred to as "predictive modeling", is in essence a classification task.

Based on the (big) assumption that the future will resemble the past, we classify future occurrences for their similarity with past cases. Then we 'predict' they will behave like past look-alikes.

2. Even A 'Purely' Predictive Model Should Always (Be) Explain(ed)

Predictive models are generally used to provide scores (likelihood to churn) or decisions (accept yes/no). Regardless, they should always be accompanied by explanations that give insight in the model. This is for two reasons:

    buy-in from business stakeholders to act on predictions is of eminent importance, and gains from understanding
    peculiarities in data do sometimes arise, and may become obvious from the model's explanation


3. It's Not About The Model, But The Results It Generates

Models are developed for a purpose. All too often, data miners fall in love with their own methodology (or algorithms). Nobody cares. Clients (not customers) who should benefit from using a model are interested in only one thing: "What's in it for me?"

Therefore, the single most important thing on a data miner's mind should be: "How do I communicate the benefits of using this model to my client?" This calls for patience, persistence, and the ability to explain in business terms how using the model will affect the company's bottom line. Practice explaining this to your grandmother, and you will come a long way towards becoming effective.

4. How Do You Measure The 'Success' Of A Model?

There are really two answers to this question. An important and simple one, and an academic and wildly complex one. What counts the most is the result in business terms. This can range from percentage of response to a direct marketing campaign, number of fraudulent claims intercepted, average sale per lead, likelihood of churn, etc.

The academic issue is how to determine the improvement a model gives over the best alternative course of business action. This turns out to be an intriguing, ill understood question. This is a frontier of future scientific study, and mathematical theory. Bias-Variance Decomposition is one of those mathematical frontiers.

5. A Model Predicts Only As Good As The Data That Go In To It

The old "Garbage In, Garbage Out" (GiGo), is hackneyed but true (unfortunately). But there is more to this topic. Across a broad range of industries, channels, products, and settings we have found a common pattern. Input (predictive) variables can be ordered from transactional to demographic. From transient and volatile to stable.

In general, transactional variables that relate to (recent) activity hold the most predictive power. Less dynamic variables, like demographics, tend to be weaker predictors. The downside is that model performance (predictive "power") on the basis of transactional and behavioral variables usually degrades faster over time. Therefore such models need to be updated or rebuilt more often.

6. Models Need To Be Monitored For Performance Degradence

It is adamant to always, always follow up model deployment by reviewing its effectiveness. Failing to do so, should be likened to driving a car with blinders on. Reckless.

To monitor how a model keeps performing over time, you check whether the prediction as generated by the model, matches the patterns of response when deployed in real life. Although no rocket science, this can be tricky to accomplish in practice.

7. Classification Accuracy Is Not A Sufficient Indicator Of Model Quality

Contrary to common belief, even among data miners, no single number of classification accuracy (R2, Gini-coefficient, lift, etc.) is valid to quantify model quality. The reason behind this has nothing to do with the model itself, but rather with the fact that a model derives its quality from being applied.

The quality of model predictions calls for at least two numbers: one number to indicate accuracy of prediction (these are commonly the only numbers supplied), and another number to reflect its generalizability. The latter indicates resilience to changing multi-variate distributions, the degree to which the model will hold up as reality changes very slowly. Hence, it's measured by the multi-variate representativeness of the input variables in the final model.

8. Exploratory Models Are As Good As the Insight They Give

There are many reasons why you want to give insight in the relations found in the data. In all cases, the purpose is to make a large amount of data and exponential number of relations palatable. You knowingly ignore detail and point to "interesting" and potentially actionable highlights.

The key here is, as Einstein pointed out already, to have a model that is as simple as possible, but not too simple. It should be as simple as possible in order to impose structure on complexity. At the same time, it shouldn't be too simple so that the image of reality becomes overly distorted.

9. Get A Decent Model Fast, Rather Than A Great One Later

In almost all business settings, it is far more important to get a reasonable model deployed quickly, instead of working to improve it. This is for three reasons:

    A working model is making money; a model under construction is not
    When a model is in place, you have a chance to "learn from experience", the same holds for even a mild improvement - is it working as expected?
    The best way to manage models is by getting agile in updating. No better practice than doing it... :)


10. Data Mining Models - What's In It For Me?

Who needs data mining models? As the world around us becomes ever more digitized, the number of possible applications abound. And as data mining software has come of age, you don't need a PhD in statistics anymore to operate such applications.

In almost every instance where data can be used to make intelligent decisions, there's a fair chance that models could help. When 40 years ago underwriters were replaced by scorecards (a particular kind of data mining model), nobody could believe that such a simple set of decision rules could be effective. Fortunes have been made by early adopters since then.

Further reading

Some excellent books on Data Mining:

Dorian Pyle (2003) Business Modeling and Data Mining. ISBN# 155860653-X

Dorian Pyle (1999) Data Preparation for Data Mining. ISBN# 1558605290

Michael Berry & Gordon Linoff (2000) Mastering Data Mining. ISBN# 0471331236

Source Data Mining Models - Tom's Ten Data Tips

Tom Breur: Biographical Sketch

Tom Breur is a consultant out of deep passion for his work.
He can be profoundly analytic, in his passionate quest to drive out the deepest business issues and the nexus point of a business model. It’s all about finding where the least effort will generate the most results.

Once the business challenge becomes clear Tom loves to roll up his sleeves and get his ‘hands dirty’.

Be it data analysis, market research, data mining or database work. Once the hands-on work gets started, his eyes begin to flicker, and he has a tendency to get carried away.

Tom has an academic background in Psychology, an education he took up twice. Initially he majored in Clinical Psychology (1986), years later he went back to college to study Economic Psychology (1996) with an emphasis on quantitative methods.




Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?Data-Mining-Models---Toms-Ten-Data-Tips&id=289130

Monday, 16 September 2013

Can You Use Data Mining to Determine What Internet Marketing Tactic Works the Best?

Data mining in general is a sequence that analyzes and collects data from people about something that they are already doing. In essence it collects information from people about things that they normally do, for instance you can do a survey on how many people enjoy making money on the internet. In depth you can collect the demographics on how great a marketing method is preforming for other marketers that are using that same method fir there businesses and see if you should get involved with it as well.

You can also use data mining to collect intel on products that are out there in the market, and you can use the results to compare to your products, if you have any. Data mining can be used as a tool that can help you analyze information that you are already accessing, but with this tool you can funnel it in the right direction. This direction is to help depict information that you are going to need to strategically market your business on the internet or maybe target a specific group in which you can generate sales from.

How can a aspiring entrepreneur in the network marketing industry apply data mining in there small business?

First off, for any new marketer entering the industry there is a series of questions that the marketer have to ask in order for he or she can do a synopsis for his niche. Questions marketers can go out and ask in a survey is, What are your interests? Or what do you do for a living? Do you like what you do for a living? He or she can go as far as, Have you ever thought of owning your business? or How many people are interested being financially independent? These question are to basically give the marketer feel for what there niche is looking for, and how he can position the business, in a strategic way.

Many top marketers use data mining to compare tactics to see what would be a smarter way to promote there businesses. I'm sure you've those annoying pop up promotions that are all over the internet, that say " Get paid to do this survey " Well those are marketers out there that are using data mining to get information for there business. Now I'm not saying go out there and begin spamming everyone that comes on your website your products, because at the end of the day, spam is spam, I do not recommend spamming. But I do recommend using data mining to your advantage.



Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?Can-You-Use-Data-Mining-to-Determine-What-Internet-Marketing-Tactic-Works-the-Best?&id=4460067

Saturday, 14 September 2013

What You Should Know About Data Mining

Often called data or knowledge discovery, data mining is the process of analyzing data from various perspectives and summarizing it into useful information to help beef up revenue or cut costs. Data mining software is among the many analytical tools used to analyze data. It allows categorizing of data and shows a summary of the relationships identified. From a technical perspective, it is finding patterns or correlations among fields in large relational databases. Find out how data mining works and its innovations, what technological infrastructures are needed, and what tools like phone number validation can do.

Data mining may be a relatively new term, but it uses old technology. For instance, companies have made use of computers to sift through supermarket scanner data - volumes of them - and analyze years' worth of market research. These kinds of analyses help define the frequency of customer shopping, how many items are usually bought, and other information that will help the establishment increase revenue. These days, however, what makes this easy and more cost-effective are disk storage, statistical software, and computer processing power.

Data mining is mainly used by companies who want to maintain a strong customer focus, whether they're engaged in retail, finance, marketing, or communications. It enables companies to determine the different relationships among varying factors, including staffing, pricing, product positioning, market competition, and social demographics.

Data mining software, for example, vary in types: statistical, machine learning, and neural networks. It seeks any of the four types of relationships: classes (stored data is used for locating data in predetermined groups), clusters (data are grouped according to logical relationships or consumer preferences), associations (data is mined to identify associations), and sequential patterns (data is mined to estimate behavioral trends and patterns). There are different levels of analysis, including artificial neural networks, genetic algorithms, decision trees, nearest neighbor method, rule induction, and data visualization.

In today's world, data mining applications are available on all size systems from client/server, mainframe, and PC platforms. When it comes to enterprise-wide applications, the size usually ranges from 10 gigabytes to more than 11 terabytes. The two important technological drivers are the size of the database and query complexity. A more powerful system is required with more data being processed and maintained, and with more complex and greater queries.

Programmable XML web services like phone number validation will assist your company in improving the quality of your data needed for data mining. Used to validate phone numbers, a phone number validation service allows you to improve the quality of your contact database by eliminating invalid telephone numbers at the point of entry. Upon verification, phone number and other customer information can work wonders for your business and its constant improvement.




Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?What-You-Should-Know-About-Data-Mining&id=6916646

Friday, 13 September 2013

Data Management Services

In recent studies it has been revealed that any business activity has astonishing huge volumes of data, hence the ideas has to be organized well and can be easily gotten when need arises. Timely and accurate solutions are important in facilitating efficiency in any business activity. With the emerging professional outsourcing and data organizing companies nowadays many services are offered that matches the various kinds of managing the data collected and various business activities. This article looks at some of the benefits that accrue of offered by the professional data mining companies.

Entering of data

These kinds of services are quite significant since they help in converting the data that is needed in high ideal and format that is digitized. In internet some of this data can found that is original and handwritten. In printed paper documents and or text are not likely to contain electronic or needed formats. The best example in this context is books that need to be converted to e-books. In insurance companies they also depend on this process in processing the claims of insurance and at the same time apply to the law firms that offer support to analyze and process legal documents.

EDC

That is referred to as electronic data. This method is mostly used by clinical researchers and other related organization in medical. The electronic data and capture methods are used in the utilization in managing trials and research. The data mining and data management services are given in upcoming databases for studies. The ideas contained can easily be captured, other services being done and the survey taken.

Data changing

This is the process of converting data found in one format to another. Data extraction process often involves mining data from an existing system, formatting it, cleansing it and can be installed to enhance both availability and retrieving of information easily. Extensive testing and application are the requirements of this process. The service offered by data mining companies includes SGML conversion, XML conversion, CAD conversion, HTML conversion, image conversion.

Managing data service

In this service it involves the conversion of documents. It is where one character of a text may need to be converted to another. If we take an example it is easy to change image, video or audio file formats to other applications of the software that can be played or displayed. In indexing and scanning is where the services are mostly offered.

Data extraction and cleansing

Significant information and sequences from huge databases and websites extraction firms use this kind of service. The data harvested is supposed to be in a productive way and should be cleansed to increase the quality. Both manual and automated data cleansing services are offered by data mining organizations. This helps to ensure that there is accuracy, completeness and integrity of data. Also we keep in mind that data mining is never enough.

Web scraping, data extraction services, web extraction, imaging, catalog conversion, web data mining and others are the other management services offered by data mining organization. If your business organization needs such services here is one that can be of great significance that is web scraping and data mining




Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?Data-Management-Services&id=7131758

Thursday, 12 September 2013

Basics of Web Data Mining and Challenges in Web Data Mining Process

Today World Wide Web is flooded with billions of static and dynamic web pages created with programming languages such as HTML, PHP and ASP. Web is great source of information offering a lush playground for data mining. Since the data stored on web is in various formats and are dynamic in nature, it's a significant challenge to search, process and present the unstructured information available on the web.

Complexity of a Web page far exceeds the complexity of any conventional text document. Web pages on the internet lack uniformity and standardization while traditional books and text documents are much simpler in their consistency. Further, search engines with their limited capacity can not index all the web pages which makes data mining extremely inefficient.

Moreover, Internet is a highly dynamic knowledge resource and grows at a rapid pace. Sports, News, Finance and Corporate sites update their websites on hourly or daily basis. Today Web reaches to millions of users having different profiles, interests and usage purposes. Every one of these requires good information but don't know how to retrieve relevant data efficiently and with least efforts.

It is important to note that only a small section of the web possesses really useful information. There are three usual methods that a user adopts when accessing information stored on the internet:

• Random surfing i.e. following large numbers of hyperlinks available on the web page.
• Query based search on Search Engines - use Google or Yahoo to find relevant documents (entering specific keywords queries of interest in search box)
• Deep query searches i.e. fetching searchable database from eBay.com's product search engines or Business.com's service directory, etc.

To use the web as an effective resource and knowledge discovery researchers have developed efficient data mining techniques to extract relevant data easily, smoothly and cost-effectively.




Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?Basics-of-Web-Data-Mining-and-Challenges-in-Web-Data-Mining-Process&id=4937441

Wednesday, 11 September 2013

Business Intelligence Data Mining

Data mining can be technically defined as the automated extraction of hidden information from large databases for predictive analysis. In other words, it is the retrieval of useful information from large masses of data, which is also presented in an analyzed form for specific decision-making.

Data mining requires the use of mathematical algorithms and statistical techniques integrated with software tools. The final product is an easy-to-use software package that can be used even by non-mathematicians to effectively analyze the data they have. Data Mining is used in several applications like market research, consumer behavior, direct marketing, bioinformatics, genetics, text analysis, fraud detection, web site personalization, e-commerce, healthcare, customer relationship management, financial services and telecommunications.

Business intelligence data mining is used in market research, industry research, and for competitor analysis. It has applications in major industries like direct marketing, e-commerce, customer relationship management, healthcare, the oil and gas industry, scientific tests, genetics, telecommunications, financial services and utilities. BI uses various technologies like data mining, scorecarding, data warehouses, text mining, decision support systems, executive information systems, management information systems and geographic information systems for analyzing useful information for business decision making.

Business intelligence is a broader arena of decision-making that uses data mining as one of the tools. In fact, the use of data mining in BI makes the data more relevant in application. There are several kinds of data mining: text mining, web mining, social networks data mining, relational databases, pictorial data mining, audio data mining and video data mining, that are all used in business intelligence applications.

Some data mining tools used in BI are: decision trees, information gain, probability, probability density functions, Gaussians, maximum likelihood estimation, Gaussian Baves classification, cross-validation, neural networks, instance-based learning /case-based/ memory-based/non-parametric, regression algorithms, Bayesian networks, Gaussian mixture models, K-means and hierarchical clustering, Markov models and so on.



Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?Business-Intelligence-Data-Mining&id=196648

Tuesday, 10 September 2013

Data Mining vs Screen-Scraping

Data mining isn't screen-scraping. I know that some people in the room may disagree with that statement, but they're actually two almost completely different concepts.

In a nutshell, you might state it this way: screen-scraping allows you to get information, where data mining allows you to analyze information. That's a pretty big simplification, so I'll elaborate a bit.

The term "screen-scraping" comes from the old mainframe terminal days where people worked on computers with green and black screens containing only text. Screen-scraping was used to extract characters from the screens so that they could be analyzed. Fast-forwarding to the web world of today, screen-scraping now most commonly refers to extracting information from web sites. That is, computer programs can "crawl" or "spider" through web sites, pulling out data. People often do this to build things like comparison shopping engines, archive web pages, or simply download text to a spreadsheet so that it can be filtered and analyzed.

Data mining, on the other hand, is defined by Wikipedia as the "practice of automatically searching large stores of data for patterns." In other words, you already have the data, and you're now analyzing it to learn useful things about it. Data mining often involves lots of complex algorithms based on statistical methods. It has nothing to do with how you got the data in the first place. In data mining you only care about analyzing what's already there.

The difficulty is that people who don't know the term "screen-scraping" will try Googling for anything that resembles it. We include a number of these terms on our web site to help such folks; for example, we created pages entitled Text Data Mining, Automated Data Collection, Web Site Data Extraction, and even Web Site Ripper (I suppose "scraping" is sort of like "ripping"). So it presents a bit of a problem-we don't necessarily want to perpetuate a misconception (i.e., screen-scraping = data mining), but we also have to use terminology that people will actually use.




Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?Data-Mining-vs-Screen-Scraping&id=146813

Monday, 9 September 2013

How Data Mining Can Help in Customer Relationship Management Or CRM?

Customer relationship management (CRM) is critical activity of improvising customer interactions while at the same time making the interactions more amicable through individualization. Data mining utilizes various data analysis and modeling methods to detect specific patterns and relationships in data. This helps in understanding what a customer wants and forecasting what they will do.

Using Data mining you can find out right prospects and offer them right products. This results in improved revenue because you can respond to each customer in best way using fewer resources.

Basic process of CRM data mining includes:
1. Define business objective
2. Construct marketing database
3. Analyze data
4. Visualize a model
5. Explore model
6. Set up model & start monitoring

Let me explain above steps in detail.

Define the business objective:
Every CRM process has one or more business objective for which you need to construct the suitable model. This model varies depending on your specific goal. The more precise your statement for defining the problem is the more successful is your CRM project.

Construct a marketing database:
This step involves creation of constructive marketing database since your operational data often don't contain the information in the form you want it. The first step in building your database is to clean it up so that you can construct clean models with accurate data.

The data you need may be scattered across different databases such as the client database, operational database and sales databases. This means you have to integrate the data into a single marketing database. Inaccurately reconciled data is a major source of quality issues.

Analyze the data:
Prior to building a correct predictive model, you must analyze your data. Collect a variety of numerical summaries (such as averages, standard deviations and so forth). You may want to generate a cross-section of multi-dimensional data such as pivot tables.

Graphing and visualization tools are a vital aid in data analysis. Data visualization most often provides better insight that leads to innovative ideas and success.



Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?How-Data-Mining-Can-Help-in-Customer-Relationship-Management-Or-CRM?&id=4572272

Friday, 6 September 2013

Data Mining and Financial Data Analysis

Most marketers understand the value of collecting financial data, but also realize the challenges of leveraging this knowledge to create intelligent, proactive pathways back to the customer. Data mining - technologies and techniques for recognizing and tracking patterns within data - helps businesses sift through layers of seemingly unrelated data for meaningful relationships, where they can anticipate, rather than simply react to, customer needs as well as financial need. In this accessible introduction, we provides a business and technological overview of data mining and outlines how, along with sound business processes and complementary technologies, data mining can reinforce and redefine for financial analysis.

Objective:

1. The main objective of mining techniques is to discuss how customized data mining tools should be developed for financial data analysis.

2. Usage pattern, in terms of the purpose can be categories as per the need for financial analysis.

3. Develop a tool for financial analysis through data mining techniques.

Data mining:

Data mining is the procedure for extracting or mining knowledge for the large quantity of data or we can say data mining is "knowledge mining for data" or also we can say Knowledge Discovery in Database (KDD). Means data mining is : data collection , database creation, data management, data analysis and understanding.

There are some steps in the process of knowledge discovery in database, such as

1. Data cleaning. (To remove nose and inconsistent data)

2. Data integration. (Where multiple data source may be combined.)

3. Data selection. (Where data relevant to the analysis task are retrieved from the database.)

4. Data transformation. (Where data are transformed or consolidated into forms appropriate for mining by performing summary or aggregation operations, for instance)

5. Data mining. (An essential process where intelligent methods are applied in order to extract data patterns.)

6. Pattern evaluation. (To identify the truly interesting patterns representing knowledge based on some interesting measures.)

7. Knowledge presentation.(Where visualization and knowledge representation techniques are used to present the mined knowledge to the user.)

Data Warehouse:

A data warehouse is a repository of information collected from multiple sources, stored under a unified schema and which usually resides at a single site.

Text:

Most of the banks and financial institutions offer a wide verity of banking services such as checking, savings, business and individual customer transactions, credit and investment services like mutual funds etc. Some also offer insurance services and stock investment services.

There are different types of analysis available, but in this case we want to give one analysis known as "Evolution Analysis".

Data evolution analysis is used for the object whose behavior changes over time. Although this may include characterization, discrimination, association, classification, or clustering of time related data, means we can say this evolution analysis is done through the time series data analysis, sequence or periodicity pattern matching and similarity based data analysis.

Data collect from banking and financial sectors are often relatively complete, reliable and high quality, which gives the facility for analysis and data mining. Here we discuss few cases such as,

Eg, 1. Suppose we have stock market data of the last few years available. And we would like to invest in shares of best companies. A data mining study of stock exchange data may identify stock evolution regularities for overall stocks and for the stocks of particular companies. Such regularities may help predict future trends in stock market prices, contributing our decision making regarding stock investments.

Eg, 2. One may like to view the debt and revenue change by month, by region and by other factors along with minimum, maximum, total, average, and other statistical information. Data ware houses, give the facility for comparative analysis and outlier analysis all are play important roles in financial data analysis and mining.

Eg, 3. Loan payment prediction and customer credit analysis are critical to the business of the bank. There are many factors can strongly influence loan payment performance and customer credit rating. Data mining may help identify important factors and eliminate irrelevant one.

Factors related to the risk of loan payments like term of the loan, debt ratio, payment to income ratio, credit history and many more. The banks than decide whose profile shows relatively low risks according to the critical factor analysis.

We can perform the task faster and create a more sophisticated presentation with financial analysis software. These products condense complex data analyses into easy-to-understand graphic presentations. And there's a bonus: Such software can vault our practice to a more advanced business consulting level and help we attract new clients.

To help us find a program that best fits our needs-and our budget-we examined some of the leading packages that represent, by vendors' estimates, more than 90% of the market. Although all the packages are marketed as financial analysis software, they don't all perform every function needed for full-spectrum analyses. It should allow us to provide a unique service to clients.

The Products:

ACCPAC CFO (Comprehensive Financial Optimizer) is designed for small and medium-size enterprises and can help make business-planning decisions by modeling the impact of various options. This is accomplished by demonstrating the what-if outcomes of small changes. A roll forward feature prepares budgets or forecast reports in minutes. The program also generates a financial scorecard of key financial information and indicators.

Customized Financial Analysis by BizBench provides financial benchmarking to determine how a company compares to others in its industry by using the Risk Management Association (RMA) database. It also highlights key ratios that need improvement and year-to-year trend analysis. A unique function, Back Calculation, calculates the profit targets or the appropriate asset base to support existing sales and profitability. Its DuPont Model Analysis demonstrates how each ratio affects return on equity.

Financial Analysis CS reviews and compares a client's financial position with business peers or industry standards. It also can compare multiple locations of a single business to determine which are most profitable. Users who subscribe to the RMA option can integrate with Financial Analysis CS, which then lets them provide aggregated financial indicators of peers or industry standards, showing clients how their businesses compare.

iLumen regularly collects a client's financial information to provide ongoing analysis. It also provides benchmarking information, comparing the client's financial performance with industry peers. The system is Web-based and can monitor a client's performance on a monthly, quarterly and annual basis. The network can upload a trial balance file directly from any accounting software program and provide charts, graphs and ratios that demonstrate a company's performance for the period. Analysis tools are viewed through customized dashboards.

PlanGuru by New Horizon Technologies can generate client-ready integrated balance sheets, income statements and cash-flow statements. The program includes tools for analyzing data, making projections, forecasting and budgeting. It also supports multiple resulting scenarios. The system can calculate up to 21 financial ratios as well as the breakeven point. PlanGuru uses a spreadsheet-style interface and wizards that guide users through data entry. It can import from Excel, QuickBooks, Peachtree and plain text files. It comes in professional and consultant editions. An add-on, called the Business Analyzer, calculates benchmarks.

ProfitCents by Sageworks is Web-based, so it requires no software or updates. It integrates with QuickBooks, CCH, Caseware, Creative Solutions and Best Software applications. It also provides a wide variety of businesses analyses for nonprofits and sole proprietorships. The company offers free consulting, training and customer support. It's also available in Spanish.



Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?Data-Mining-and-Financial-Data-Analysis&id=2752017

Thursday, 5 September 2013

Benefits and Advantages of Data Mining

One definition given to data mining is the categorization of information according to the needs and preferences of the user. In data mining, you try to find patterns within a big volume of available data. It is a potent and popular technology for different industries. Data mining can even be compared to the difficult task of looking for a needle in the haystack. The greatest challenge is not obtaining information but uncovering connections and information that have not been known in the past.

Yet, data mining tools can only be utilized efficiently provided you possess huge amounts of information in repository. Almost all of corporate organizations already hold this information. One good example is the list of potential clients for marketing purposes. These are the consumers to whom you can sell commodities or services. You have greater chances of generating more revenues if you know these potential customers in the inventory and determine consumption behavior. There are benefits that you need to know regarding data mining.

    Data mining is not only for entrepreneurs. The process is cut out for analysis as well and can be employed by government agencies, non-profit organizations, and basketball teams. In short, the data must be made more specific and refined according to the needs of the group concerned.

    This unique method can be used along with demographics. Data mining combined with demographics enables enterprises to pursue the advertising strategy for specific segments of customers. That form of advertising that is related directly to behavior.

    It has a flexible nature and can be used by business organizations that focus on the needs of customers. Data mining is one of the more relevant services because of the fast-paced and instant access to information together with techniques in economic processing.

However, you need to prepare ahead of time the data used for mining. It is essential to understand the principles of clustering and segmentation. These two elements play a vital part in marketing campaigns and customer interface. These components encompass the purchasing conduct of consumers over a particular duration. You will be able to separate your customers into categories based on the earnings brought to your company. It is possible to determine the income that these customers will generate and retention opportunities. Simply remember that nearly all profit-oriented entities will desire to maintain high-value and low-risk clients. The target is to ensure that these customers keep on buying for the long-term.



Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?Benefits-and-Advantages-of-Data-Mining&id=7747698

Tuesday, 3 September 2013

Data Mining Process - Why Outsource Data Mining Service?

Overview of Data Mining and Process:
Data mining is one of the unique techniques for investigating information to extract certain data patterns and decide to outcome of existing requirements. Data mining is widely use in client research, services analysis, market research and so on. It is totally based on mathematical algorithm and analytical skills to drive the desired results from the huge database collection.

Information mining is mostly used by financial analyzer, business and professional organization and also there are many growing area of business that are get maximum advantages of data extract with use of data warehouses in their small to large level of businesses.

Most of functionalities which are used in information collecting process define as under:

* Retrieving Data

* Analyzing Data

* Extracting Data

* Transforming Data

* Loading Data

* Managing Databases

Most of small, medium and large levels of businesses are collect huge amount of data or information for analysis and research to develop business. Such kind of large amount will help and makes it much important whenever information or data required.

Why Outsource Data Online Mining Service?

Outsourcing advantages of data mining services:
o Almost save 60% operating cost
o High quality analysis processes ensuring accuracy levels of almost 99.98%
o Guaranteed risk free outsourcing experience ensured by inflexible information security policies and practices
o Get your project done within a quick turnaround time
o You can measure highly skilled and expertise by taking benefits of Free Trial Program.
o Get the gathered information presented in a simple and easy to access format

Thus, data or information mining is very important part of the web research services and it is most useful process. By outsource data extraction and mining service; you can concentrate on your co relative business and growing fast as you desire.

Outsourcing web research is trusted and well known Internet Market research organization having years of experience in BPO (business process outsourcing) field.

If you want to more information about data mining services and related web research services, then contact us.



Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?Data-Mining-Process---Why-Outsource-Data-Mining-Service?&id=3789102

Monday, 2 September 2013

How Web Data Extraction Services Will Save Your Time and Money by Automatic Data Collection

Data scrape is the process of extracting data from web by using software program from proven website only. Extracted data any one can use for any purposes as per the desires in various industries as the web having every important data of the world. We provide best of the web data extracting software. We have the expertise and one of kind knowledge in web data extraction, image scrapping, screen scrapping, email extract services, data mining, web grabbing.

Who can use Data Scraping Services?

Data scraping and extraction services can be used by any organization, company, or any firm who would like to have a data from particular industry, data of targeted customer, particular company, or anything which is available on net like data of email id, website name, search term or anything which is available on web. Most of time a marketing company like to use data scraping and data extraction services to do marketing for a particular product in certain industry and to reach the targeted customer for example if X company like to contact a restaurant of California city, so our software can extract the data of restaurant of California city and a marketing company can use this data to market their restaurant kind of product. MLM and Network marketing company also use data extraction and data scrapping services to to find a new customer by extracting data of certain prospective customer and can contact customer by telephone, sending a postcard, email marketing, and this way they build their huge network and build large group for their own product and company.

We helped many companies to find particular data as per their need for example.

Web Data Extraction

Web pages are built using text-based mark-up languages (HTML and XHTML), and frequently contain a wealth of useful data in text form. However, most web pages are designed for human end-users and not for ease of automated use. Because of this, tool kits that scrape web content were created. A web scraper is an API to extract data from a web site. We help you to create a kind of API which helps you to scrape data as per your need. We provide quality and affordable web Data Extraction application

Data Collection

Normally, data transfer between programs is accomplished using info structures suited for automated processing by computers, not people. Such interchange formats and protocols are typically rigidly structured, well-documented, easily parsed, and keep ambiguity to a minimum. Very often, these transmissions are not human-readable at all. That's why the key element that distinguishes data scraping from regular parsing is that the output being scraped was intended for display to an end-user.

Email Extractor

A tool which helps you to extract the email ids from any reliable sources automatically that is called a email extractor. It basically services the function of collecting business contacts from various web pages, HTML files, text files or any other format without duplicates email ids.

Screen scrapping

Screen scraping referred to the practice of reading text information from a computer display terminal's screen and collecting visual data from a source, instead of parsing data as in web scraping.

Data Mining Services

Data Mining Services is the process of extracting patterns from information. Datamining is becoming an increasingly important tool to transform the data into information. Any format including MS excels, CSV, HTML and many such formats according to your requirements.

Web spider

A Web spider is a computer program that browses the World Wide Web in a methodical, automated manner or in an orderly fashion. Many sites, in particular search engines, use spidering as a means of providing up-to-date data.

Web Grabber

Web grabber is just a other name of the data scraping or data extraction.

Web Bot

Web Bot is software program that is claimed to be able to predict future events by tracking keywords entered on the Internet. Web bot software is the best program to pull out articles, blog, relevant website content and many such website related data We have worked with many clients for data extracting, data scrapping and data mining they are really happy with our services we provide very quality services and make your work data work very easy and automatic.



Source: http://ezinearticles.com/?How-Web-Data-Extraction-Services-Will-Save-Your-Time-and-Money-by-Automatic-Data-Collection&id=5159023